'There can be no peace.

The Nimius curse will be roused.

The cliffs will crumble and fall into the waves.

The sea shall devour.

Your time is over.'

Something is brewing in the coastal town of Whitby. To best friends Lil and Verne, it just seems like a particularly bad storm. But Cherry Cerise, the last of the town's guardian witches, fears that ancient forces are at work, reviving the curse of a long lost magical artefact and a feud that has survived even beyond death...

The first in a new magical adventure series.




Ever since I finished the original trilogy of the Whitby Witches, I've felt the lure to return to those narrow cobbled streets on the East Cliff, climb the 199 steps up to the gale beaten graveyard and look back over the town. Whitby is a place that won't let you go and strange, unearthly stories are waiting to be scratched out of the sand and soil.

I wanted to explore how much the place has changed in the intervening years. The Goth culture has really taken root and flourished and I was interested in creating a character who was brought up in a family deeply into all that. I also felt there was unfinished business with the Lords of the Deep and Dark, and that Whitby was always in need of a guardian, a witch whose job it was to protect the town from the anger of those ancient beings. A chance encounter with a colourful eccentric gave me my new witch completely whole and fully formed, but most of all, I wanted to see aufwaders again - somehow. So the story began to simmer in my mind and a new, sinister adversary began to take shape...


Published by Egmont Publishing, 2016.


© Copyright Robin Jarvis 2016