"What's your name?" Asked the woman.

"I'm, er, Lil. I think...Yes, Lil Wilson."

"And what are you doing here?"

"I've no idea!" cried Lil. "I know it's very important...
I just can't remember what it is!"

When Lil wakes up in a Whitby she has only ever imagined, she discovers that the sinister Mr. Dark is more powerful than ever before, and has enslaved young Verne to his will.

Lil is determined to save her lost friend before their enemy unleashes his most despicable and insane plot yet - but first, she has to find him...

Even with the help of new, surprising allies - a witch, a mysterious man of many disguises and the secretive aufwaders beneath the cliff - all seems hopeless. Whitby has never been a more frightening and dangerous place to live, and the murdered dead refuse to rest in peace.

Time of Blood is the third title in The Witching Legacy, the supernatural adventure series that begins with The Power of Dark, and continues with The Devil's Paintbox.





I couldn't resist setting a story in Whitby's Victorian past any longer. This is the period the Goths and Steampunkers revel in when they converge on the town for their special weekends and dress accordingly. Whitby in Victoria's reign was a hugely popular seaside resort and is of course where Dracula came ashore. I had to address that somehow.

Researching any book always unearths surprises but I've never been so delighted as to discover that, on the West Cliff at this time, there was an immense, derelict windmill. It loomed over that half of the town just as much as the abbey towers over the other. It was crying out to be featured. What a shame they eventually knocked it down.

I've also included several real, well known people who were there at the time, and thoroughly enjoyed embroiling them in Mister Dark's heinous and most insane scheme yet. Interestingly, I discovered that one of those people would take solitary walks along the shore in later years, where he yelled and raged at the sea - it's almost as if Time of Blood actually happened!

Published by Egmont Publishing.


© Copyright Robin Jarvis